Christian Johnson

One of Christian’s eyes is near-sighted while the other is far-sighted, meaning his depth perception can be a bit off.


Number: 29
Age: 26
Date of birth: 1/31/1992
Place of birth: New Jersey
Height: 6’2″
College team(s): University of North Carolina
Current city of residence: Santa Cruz, CA
Occupation: Grad student


Previous club team(s): 
Los (2010)
Ring of Fire (2011-2014)

2010 National Science Bowl champion

How I came to join Revolver:
I had moved to Santa Cruz for graduate school partly because of the physics program, but also because I wanted to play Revolver. At tryouts I learned that the team was only going to take three rookies, and I wondered, if I didn’t make the team was my whole plan was a disaster? But I made it and so managed to dodge that bullet

Favorite game or tournament moment on Revolver:
Probably some recency bias here, but the mayhem of Friday evening at WUCC 2018 was a lot of fun. Despite learning via Twitter that our game would be a) 20 minutes long, b) indoor, and c) happening in just over an hour, everyone went into warmups with an extremely positive attitude. The game itself was a whirlwind, and the atmosphere was electric.

Favorite game or tournament moment outside Revolver:
Classic City Classic 2013- we (UNC) found ourselves in a really close game in the finals against Florida State. No wind or sun, sidelines packed with spectators, and a quality win where I made some nice plays. Doesn’t get much better than that.

Favorite ultimate player(s) in my formative years:
I especially looked up to players who had gone to Chapel Hill High School (where I went) and found success at the club level- Josh Berkowitz, Josh Torrell, Paul Weeks, Zach Washburn.

Favorite movie as a kid:
October Sky

Pre-game ritual:
Applying liberal amounts of sunscreen. Promptly followed by sweating it all off

What I like to eat Saturday night of a tournament:
I’d love to just go to Olive Garden and eat some never-ending breadsticks and soup until I fall into a food coma. But one time I did that on Ring and everyone laughed at me so now I avoid it.

If I didn’t play Ultimate, my main pastime outside of work would be:
Probably lifting and climbing. Sleeping in on the weekends

Favorite sports team outside of Ultimate:
UNC Tar Heels

Something unknown about me:
I’d like to take this moment to plug my blog– I’m always looking for interesting analyses that I can run. Hit me up if you think of something that would be at home there!